Today (Wednesday, May 22), Spain, Ireland, and Norway announced their official recognition of the State of Palestine, by a decision announced in an official statement from the countries’ leaders.

Norwegian Prime Minister, Jonas Gahr Storhe, and his Foreign Minister, Espen Barth Ede, announced this step in a joint press conference; which details were contained in a joint statement published by the Norwegian government on its website, which stated: “The decision to officially recognize the State of Palestine will go into effect on May 28,” noting that “a number of European countries with a similar orientation will officially recognize the State of Palestine on the same date.”

The Norwegian Prime Minister said during the press conference: “Recognizing Palestine sends a strong message to other countries to follow Norway’s decision”.

Moreover, Ireland announced its recognition of Palestine as a state, and Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris said in Dublin on Wednesday: “This step was taken jointly with Norway and Spain.”

In turn, Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez said today: “The government will recognize an independent Palestinian state,” and added before the Spanish Parliament: “Next Tuesday, May 28, Spanish Council of Ministers will recognize the Palestinian state.”